Sunday, July 9, 2017

MELOW Conference 2018 in Dharamshala


MELOW
(The Society for the Study of the Multi-Ethnic Literatures of the World)
CONFERENCE CALL

17th INTERNATIONAL MELOW CONFERENCE

To be held in Dharamshala, H.P.
Tentatively in March 2018 (final dates to be announced)


SPACE, PLACE, AND LANDSCAPE IN LITERATURES OF THE WORLD

Literary Texts are not suspended in a featureless limbo. Whatever the mode, the lyric, the dramatic, or the narrative, a text, be it the pastoral poem or a narrative of the American wilderness, is concerned with topology. Texts are narrated against a specific backdrop, whether real or fictitious, exquisite or horrendous, utopian or dystopian. Traditionally, narratives belong to a specific time and place, even when they cross borders and spill over to other locales and climes. But with globalization, cultural and otherwise, the traditional notions of space and place have undergone a sea-change, giving rise to a space-centric terminology: no place (Marc Auge), placeness, placelessness, heterotopia (Michel Foucault), deterritorialization (Deleuze and Guattari), etc. So, are we rooted or rootless, topophiliac or topophobic? Do we “belong” to a particular geographical space that influences our thoughts, actions and words? And when we write, does our writing get affected by the flora and fauna, the ranging mountains, the foaming seas or the green meadows in which we live and breathe? Does the landscape find its way into what we dream and write of? Or is that true only of the past writers, with contemporary writers and texts now becoming placeless and deterritorialized, with no identifiable spatial or cultural moorings? This is what MELOW would like to deliberate upon in its next conference.

MELOW 2018 will focus on space, place, and landscape in literatures of the world.

Tentatively, the conference will be divided into the panels mentioned below.
Panel A: Theoretical issues: Critical perspectives on space, place and landscape in literature; environmentalism and eco-poetics, cultural-spatial globalization, virtual places, etc.

Panel B: Nature and Literature: Mountainscapes; waterbodies; Island Literature; verdant greens: Rolling meadows, sprawling plains, moors; Call of the wild: Deserts, wilderness, inhospitable regions, etc.

Panel C: Cityscapes: Urban landscapes; Technologies of Space and Place; science and speculative fiction; surrealistic or fantastic landscapes; utopias and dystopias.

Panel D: Nostalgia: Places lost or left behind in time; a world that was; Displacement, Memory and Place; Diasporas and Migrations, Place and Identity.

Panel E: The Politics of Place: Nationalism, Imperialism and Colonialism; cultural globalization.

Please note: The focus will be on texts, whether printed or cinematic. The thrust will be on WORLD literature. There will be restrictions on the number of abstracts in any given category. In case of overlapping themes, or if there are too many abstracts in a specific field, you may be asked to send another abstract on a different theme.

Abstracts (200 to 250) words may be sent on relevant topics to melusmelow@gmail.com by 1st  September 2017.

Your abstract should be sent in the TEXT BOX of the email (not as attachment). The following information, in the given format, should be sent along with the abstract:

 PANEL HEAD under which abstract may be considered (A, B, C, D or E, as given above): 

MELUS/MELOW conferences attended earlier (in which year and where)
Are you currently a member of MELOW? Or do you need a fresh / renewed membership? Please specify.
Name of Delegate
Official designation
Email id
Title of Abstract
ABSTRACT [Text] 250 words max.

·      The subject line of your message should read thus:
ABSTRACT 2017: [YOUR NAME] and [If competing for the ISM Award, state if you are an Indian citizen below 40]*

Deadline for receipt of abstracts is 1 September 2017 
All abstracts will be peer-reviewed before they are accepted. Do not send full papers. Once acceptance letters are sent, full papers (approx 3,000 words) will be invited only from participants (under 40 years of age) competing for the Isaac Sequeira Memorial Award. The rest need to bring their complete papers along at the time of the conference.

*   ISAAC SEQUEIRA MEMORIAL AWARD:
In the memory of our patron, Prof Isaac Sequeira, MELOW annually awards a prize for the best paper presented at its conference. The award will comprise a certificate and a cash prize of Rs. 5,000.
The competition is open to Indian citizens who are members of MELOW. The competing participant / delegate should be less than forty years of age at the time of the conference. The abstract should be submitted by the stipulated deadline. If it is selected for the ‘long list’ the complete paper will be invited by a given deadline and assessed and shortlisted before it is presented at the conference.
Organizing Committee:
President: Prof Anil Raina (Chandigarh)
Vice-President: Dr Vijay Sharma (Delhi)
Secretary: Prof Manju Jaidka (Chandigarh)
Jt. Secretary: Prof Manpreet Kaur (Delhi)
Treasurer: Dr Meenu Gupta (Chandigarh)

Executive Members: 
Prof Sushila Singh (Varanasi)
Prof Dipankar Purkayastha (Silchar)
Prof Debarati Bandopadhyay (Santiniketan)
Prof Ravichandran (Kanpur)
Dr Roshan Sharma (Dharamshala)
Dr Seema Bhupendra (Udaipur)
Dr Neela Sarkar (Kolkata)
Dr Jyoti Mishra (Chattisgarh)
Dr Vandhana Sharma (Jammu)
Dr Suneeta Patnayak (Chandigarh)
Dr Radha Gautam (Surat)

Thursday, May 11, 2017

UPDATED MEMBERS LIST - MAY 2017




Name
Membership No.
Place
E-mail ID
A R N Hanuman
22-0521


AartteeKaulDhar
LM-1
Delhi
aartteekaul@gmail.com
Adishree Vats
25-1152
Jammu
vatsadishree@gmail.com
Aisha Ravindran
LM-2

aisha2md2.vsnl.net.in
AlkaBakshi
LM-3
Jammu
Settled in Canada
Alka Sharma
LM-4

alka@rediffmail.com
Alladi Uma
LM-5
Hyderabad
alladiu@hd2.vsnl.net.in
Amandeep
LM-6
Chandigarh
amandeep.deep78@gmail.com
Ambri Shukla
23-0662

ambri.s@rediffmail.com
Amit P Shesh
LM-7
Maharashtra
Amitshesh1@yahoo.com
AmnaShamim
22-0554
Up
amna_2036@yahoo.co.in
Amrit Kaur
LM-8
Haryana
akaur74@ymail.com
Amrit Sen
LM-9
Wb
amritsen@gmail.com
Anil Raina
LM-10
Chandigarh
aneelraina@gmail.com
Anita Kiran
22-0528


Anita Sharma
25-1151
Shimla, Hp
anitakc8@gmail.com
Anjali Chauhan
LM-11

dranjalichauhan@gmail.com
Anju Jain
LM-12
Ambala

Anju Malik
23-0754


Anne Angeline Abraham
22-0562
Kerala
annekunath@gmail.com
Anupam Nahar Vatsyayan
24-0862
Ludhiana

Amway Mukhopadhyay
24-0855


Arijita Pradhan
22-0529

pradhan.arijita@gmail.com
Arun Dev Singh
22-0527


Aruna Mukherjee
LM-13


Ashok Kundu
LM-14
Haryana
Dr.kundu.1975@gmail.com
AshuVashisht
LM-15
Jammu
Kulbushan.razdan@rediffmail.com
B K Patel
LM-16
Chattisgarh

B S Jadhav
LM-21
Maharashtra

BajrangKorde
LM-17
Pune
korde@unipune.ernet.in
BalrajThapar
LM-18
Chandigarh
balraj.thapar@gmail.com
BhanupriyaRohilla
25-1101
Udaipur
bhanupriyarohilla@gmail.com
Boddhistava Khan
LM-19


BrajeshSawhney
LM-20
Kurukshetra
brajesh­67@rediffmail.com
Charu Mishra
23-0701
Raigarh, Cg
dr.ccmishra@gmail.com
Chetna Gupta
LM-22
Jammu
chetna.gupta112@gmail.com
Debaleena Banerjee
LM-23
Kolkata
debalina.babanerjee@gmail.com
DebaratiBandyopadhyay
LM-24
Visva-Bharati
abdebarati@gmail.com
Debobani Biswas
LM-25
Durgapur
debobanib@gmail.com
Deepa Mattoo
LM-26
Jammu

Deepali Dhaul
26-1278 /1283

Deepali Yadav
25-1009
Delhi
deepaliy06@gmail.com
DeepsheekhaKotwal
LM-27
Jammu
deepshikhakotwal@jammuuniversity.in
Devasree Chakravarty
24-0846
Chandigarh
DipankarPurukayastha
LM-28
Silchar, Assam
dipankar151@rediffmail.com
DivijaKumari
24-0916

divija_kumari@yahoo.in
Eami Mathew
LM-29
Kerala
eamimathew@gmail.com
G A Ghanshyam
24-0845


Garima Williams
LM-30
Kanpur
garimapsitk@gmail.com
Geetanjali Rajput
LM-31
Jammu

GoutamGhosal
21-0512
Visva-Bharati
gghosal87@gmail.com
Gulshan Kumar
LM-32
Punjab

Gur Pyari Jindal
LM-33
UP
gpj.dei@gmail.com
Gurpreet Kaur
21-0510

kaurgurpreet160@gmail.com
Gursheek
24-0974
Chandigarh
gursheek@gmail.com
H S Komlesha
24-0859


HariprasadAthanickal
LM-34
Hyderabad
Harneet Kaur Sandhu
LM-35
Chandigarh
hksandhu78@gmail.com
Harpreet Gill
LM-36
Chandigarh
harpreet_9@rediffmail.com
Harpreet Pruthi
LM-37
Chandigarh
harpreet_pruthi@yahoo.com
Harpreet Vohra
18-1320
HimadriLahiri
LM-38
Wb
hlahiri@gmail.com
Ila Rathore
LM-39
Bilaspur, Hp

IndraniDatta
LM-40
Wb
Indu Swami
LM-41
Bikaner
Ishmeet Kaur
LM-42
Gujarat
ishmeetsaini@gmail.com
Jaideep Chauhan
LM-43

chauhanjd@hotmail.com
Janesh Kapoor
24-0921
Solan, Hp
jnesh.kapoor@gmail.com
Jappreet Kaur Bhangu
LM-44
Punjab
jkbhangu@rediffmail.com
Jayamangala A Jalihal
LM-45
Belgaum

JayantaKar
22-0603

jayantakarsharma@gmail.com
Joydeepbhattacharya
25-1004
Darjeeling
jbsiliguri@gmail.com
Jyoti Mishra
LM-46
Raipur, Cg
jytmshr@gmail.com
JyotiSheoran
LM-47
Haryana
Jyotisheoran22@rediffmail.com
JyotirmayaTripathi
LM-48

jyotichrist@rediffmail.com
K B Razdan
LM-49
Jammu
Kulbushan.razdan@rediffmail.com
KalikinkarPattanayak
LM-50
Odisha
kalikinkar.pattanayak@gmail.com
KalpanaPurohit
LM-51
Jodhpur
kalpana1410@rediffmail.com
Kanchan
23-0840


Karan Singh Yadav
25-1027
Mahendergarh
vikramveer23@gmail.com
Karunesh Mishra
LM-52
Kolkata

Kavita Arya
24-0976
Varanasi, Up
kvtarya@gmail.com
Khem Raj Sharma
LM-53
Dharamshala
drrajksharma62@gmail.com
Kiranjeet Kaur Bedi
LM-54
Raipur
dr.k.k.bedi@gmail.com
Krishna Sen
LM-55
Wb
thesens@cal.vsnl.net.in
KritiKalia
22-0525
Chandigarh
interact_k@yahoo.com
Lekha Roy
27-1298
Ropar
lekha.roy@iitrpr.ac.in
Lovelina Singh
LM-56
Chandigarh
lovelinasingh10@gmail.com
MadhuKher
LM-57
Raipur, Cg
mahukher@gmail.com
Maghsood Ismaili
LM-58
Iran
esmaili­k@yahoo.com
Mahesh Nivargi
LM-59
Maharashtra
mmnivargi@gmail.com
MamtaAggrawal
24-0999


Manju Jaidka
LM-60
Chandigarh
mjaidka@gmail.com
Manoj Tula
LM-61
Assam
Manoj2nov@yahoo.com
ManoranjanSahu
LM-62
Odisha
Manoranjan_sahu@rediffmail.com
Manpreet Kaur Kang
LM-63
Delhi
roohipannu@yahoo.co.uk
Mary Fatima Cross
LM-64
Kerala

Mary Mohanty
25-1150
Odisha
mary.mohanty@yahoo.co.in
Mayadevi J
LM-65
Kerala

Meenakshi Paul
LM-66
Shimla
mfpaul@rediffmail.com
MeenakshiSundaram
LM-67


Meenu Gupta
27-1316
Chandigarh
mun110275@gmail.com
Meeta Ajay Khanna
22-0524


MeghaGulavani
LM-68
Maharashtra
gvishram@yahoo.co.in
Melissa Helen
LM-69
Hyderabad
h_millie28@yahoo.com
Mina Surjit Singh
LM-70
Chandigarh
singhmina@gmail.com
Monbinder
22-0616

monbinder.kaur@gmail.com
Monika Dhillon
26-1167

MukulSengupta
LM-71
Kolkata
mkcshyam@hotmail.com
Munejhah Khan
25-1007
J&K
munejah_k@rediffmail.com
N D R Chandra
LM-72

chandra592001@yahoo.com
NamrataNistandra
LM-73
Jalandhar
NandiniBhadra
LM-74
Gujarat
nandini­bhadra@yahoo.co.in
NavjotDeol
22-0594
Jalandhar
navjotsdeol@gmail.com
Navjot Kaur
LM-75
Chandigarh
navjot1809@hotmail.com
Neeru Tandon
22-1160

1000 pending
Neetu Raina
22-0531


Nidhi Rana
22-0547
Chandigarh

Nidhi Sharma
27-1299

Nila Das
LM-76
Wb
nila_maya@rediffmail.com
Nilakshi Roy
22-0611
Mumbai
nilakshiroy6@gmail.com
NirmalKumari
24-0941
Jammu
NishatHaider
22-0553
Lucknow
nishatzoon@yahoo.co.in
Nishi Pandey
LM-77
Lucknow
nishinikki@gmail.com
Panchali Mukherjee
22-0584
Bangalore
panchali.mukherjee@gmail.com
Pankaj Roy
22-0530


PayalKhurana
LM-78
Gurgaon
payalsoni05@yahoo.com
Pinky Isha
21-0513

pinky.isha@gmail.com
Prabhanjan Mane
22-0526


Pradip Patra
21-0501


Prajya
24-0985


Pranav Joshipura
LM-79
Gujarat
PratibhaNagpal
LM-80
Chandigarh

Prem Srivastava
LM-82
Delhi
premksri@gmail.com
Premlata
LM-81
Kerala

Priyanaka Vaidya
27-1300

Priya Sandhu
24-0860
Chandigarh

Punam Gupta
LM-83
Chandigarh
punamgupta­27@yahoo.in
Punyashree Panda
LM-84
Nagpur
panda_punyashreefirst@rediffmail.com
R G Kulkarni
LM-85
Maharashtra
dr_rkulkarni@yahoo.co.in
R K Dhawan
LM-86
Delhi
rkdhawan@gmail.com
Radha Gautam
27-1315
Radika Chopra
LM-87
Delhi
radika22@yahoo.co.in
Rahul Chaturvedi
24-0927

ksiddhartth@gmail.com
RajashriBarverkar
LM-88

rbarvekar@yahoo.co.in
Rajender Singh
LM-89

redhurajender@gmail.com
Rajendra P Sharma
LM-90
Jammu

Rakesh Kumar
LM-91

dr.rakesh_sharma@rediffmail.com
RamneekKohli
22-0592
Chandigarh
ramnikkohli@gmail.com
RanjitaBarik
24-0997
Odisha
barik.ranjita05@gmail.com
Rashmi Verma
LM-92
Kurukshetra

Ravichandran T
LM-129
Kanpur
travichandran4@yahoo.com
Ravinder Singh
LM-93
Jammu
raviiju@yahoo.com
Reena Andrews
LM-94

zednem@satyam.net.in
Renee Singh
LM-95
Chandigarh
reneesingh@rediffmail.com
RenukaDhyani
24-0898
Haryana
renuka_thapliyal@yahoo.ca
RimikaSinghvi
24-0847
Jaipur
rimikasinghvi@gmail.com
Ritu Magotra
18-1318
Ritu R Agarwal
LM-96
Surat
ritu­a25@yahoo.com
RohiniTukdeo
LM-97
Maharashtra
rohinitukdeo@yahoo.com
Roshan Sharma
LM-146
Himachal
roshanlal.sharma@gmail.com
Rosy Yumnam
26-1171
S D Baral
21-0508
Mizoram
sdbaral.08@gmail.com
S S Gill
LM-98
Chandigarh
sukhjindergill@gmail.com
SaharayaPotnis
24-0977


Sandhya Bhardwaj
23-0785


Sangeeta Singh
LM-99
Hp
sangeetanahan@gmail.com
Sanjay Samyal
LM-100
Jammu

Sanjeev Kumar
LM-101
Mahendergarh
sanjeevkr10@rediffmail.com
Santosh Rajguru
LM-102
Maharashtra
santosh.august@gmail.com
Sarabjeet
22-0655
Chandigarh
sarab_in_2000@yahoo.com
SaraniGhosal
21-0507
Goa
sarani@nitgoa.ac.in
Saraswti V Kupwade
LM-103
Belgaum
drvkupwade@rediffmail.com
Satish Kumar Gupta
LM-104

satishgupta522@gmail.com
Satnam Kaur
LM-105
Jammu
satnam_k_raina@yahoo.co.in
Satyajit Das
22-0538
Mizoram
satyamizoram@gmail.com
Savita Singh
LM-106
Rewa. Mp

Seema Bhupendra
LM-107
Udaipur
Seema_bhupendra@yahoo.co.in
Seema Malik
LM-108
Udaipur
malikrs2002@yahoo.co.in
Seema Murugan
LM-109
Kharagpur
seema1308@gmail.com
Shahila Zafar
LM-110
Tamilnadu
shahel.zafar@gmail.com
Shamenaz Sheikh
23-0704

shamenaz@gmail.com
Sharmishtha De
LM-111
Kharagpur
sharmishta.dedutta@gmail.com
Sharmishtha Mandal
LM-112


ShivaniPujala
21-0514


ShobanaBalan
LM-113
Kerala

Shukla Saha
LM-114
Agartala
Shukla9@yahoo.com
SmitaJha
LM-115
Kanpur
smitaiitr@gmail.com
Smita Varghese
LM-116

verghese.smita@gmail.com
Smriti Singh
LM-117
Patna
smritichotu@gmail.com
Somdatta Mandal
LM-118
Visva-Bharati
somdattam@gmail.com
Sonali Sarkar
24-0996
Wb
sonaliskr1034@gmail.com
Sresha
25-1008

sresha85@gmail.com
Stuti Prasad
LM-120
Patna
prasad­_stuti@yahoo.co.in
Sucharita Sarkar
24-0850


SuchitraSarma
LM-121
Delhi
suchita_sarma@hotmail.com
Sudha P Pandya
LM-122
Baroda
sudhapandya@rediffmail.com
SukhdeepGhuman
22-0651

sukhdeepghuman@yahoo.co.uk
SuklaBasu Sen
LM-123
Wb
Sukla1951@gmail.com
Suman Bala
LM-124
Delhi
balasuman@yahoo.com
Sumita Parmar
LM-119
Allahabad
sumitasparmar@rediffmail.com
SuneetaPattanayak
LM-125
Chandigarh
suneetapatnayak@gmail.com
SunitaGharge
22-0643
Maharashtra
ghargesunita@gmail.com
SurbhiGoel
LM-126
Chandigarh
surbhi5276@yahoo.com
Sushila Singh
LM-127
Varanasi
Ssushila.04@gmail.com
SusumitaTalukdar
LM-128
Nepal
suchayan_04@wlink.com.np
Swagata Biswas
21-0511

bisswagata@gmail.com
Tanuka Das
LM-130
Visva-Bharati
TanushreeNayak
21-0502


TejaswaniKadavakolly
LM-131
AP
tej_hyd@rediffmail.com
ToposhreeTaraphdar
LM-132
Kharagpur
toposhree003@gmail.com
TriptiKarekatti
LM-133
Maharashtra
triptikarekatti@yahoo.co.in
Tutun Mukherjee
LM-134
Hyderabad
tms3india@yahoo.co.in
U Sanyal
LM-136
Maharashtra
sanyal@gmail.com
Urvashi Kaushal
LM-135
Gujrat
urvashikaushal6@gmail.com
V Lakshmanan
LM-137
Tamilnadu
vlakshmanan44@gmail.com
Vaibhav Shah
LM-138
Udaipur
vaibhav.shah07@yahoo.co.in
VandanaDatta
LM-130
Patna
vdatta@bsnl.in
VandanaSukheeja
LM-141
Punjab
vsukheeja@gmail.com
Vandhana Sharma
LM-140
Katra, J&K
vandhanasmvdu@gmail.com
Varghese John
LM-142
Kerala
vjohnmail@gmail.com
Vibha Bhoot
26-1162
Jodhpur
vibhabhoot@rediffmail.com
Vidushi Sharma
LM-143
Faridabad
vidushis32@gmail.com
Vijay Lakshmi
LM-144
Chandigarh
agnihotrivijayl@yahoo.co.in
Vijay Sharma
25-1158
Delhi
sharmavk@yahoo.com
YashodharaUberoi
LM-145
Maharashtra
uoberoi@sancharnet.in





NOTE: The first two digits of your number indicate the year in which your membership expires while the last four digits indicate the receipt number for your membership fee, e.g. 18-1320 implies that your membership receipt is 1320, and your membership expires on 31 March 2018.
Life Membership is indicated by the letters LM. The last four digits therein refer to the alphabetical sequential number in the Life Member List as on 1 January 2016.
MELOW has discontinued enrolling new Life Members.